everything about our parliament as an institution, functions and its operations. from Legco to house of representative, to 10th parliament to the 2013 elections under the new constitution.

The First Parliament was inaugurated on 7 June 1963. 

Second Parliament was inaugurated on 6 Feb 1970.




It will have 2 Houses: the National Assembly and the Senate.

93. (1) There is established a Parliament of Kenya, which shall consist of the National Assembly and the Senate.
(2) The National Assembly and the Senate shall perform their respective functions in accordance with this Constitution.
94. (1) The legislative authority of the Republic is derived from the people and, at the national level, is vested in and exercised by Parliament.
(2) Parliament manifests the diversity of the nation, represents the will of the people, and exercises their sovereignty.
(3) Parliament may consider and pass amendments to this Constitution, and alter county boundaries as provided for in this Constitution.
(4) Parliament shall protect this Constitution and promote the democratic governance of the Republic.
(5) No person or body, other than Parliament, has the power to make provision having the force of law in Kenya except under authority conferred by this Constitution or by legislation.
(6) An Act of Parliament, or legislation of a county, that confers on any State organ, State officer or person the authority to make provision having the force of law in Kenya, as contemplated in clause (5), shall expressly specify the purpose and objectives for which that authority is conferred, the limits of the authority, the nature and scope of the law that may be made, and the principles and standards applicable to the law made under the authority.



Find Us On FaceBook - Image

Follow me