Article Index


First National Assembly Under the New Constitution



Free. Fearless. Fair





The National Assembly will form one of two Houses (or Chambers) of the Parliament of the Republic of Kenya. The Assembly derives its National legislative authority from the people of Kenya to whom belongs all sovereign power.

Roles and Functions

The National Assembly will represent the will of the people and exercise their sovereignty. To do so, the Assembly will make the laws, regulate public resources and exercises oversight on the National Executive and State Organs.

Composition The new National Assembly will consist of 290 directly elected Members for Constituencies, 47 Women Representatives elected directly by the people of the Counties, and 12 Nominated Members to represent special interest groups, and an ex-officio Speaker; a total of 350 Members. Each of the 47 Women and the 12 Nominated Members of the Assembly will carry a single vote as will the 290.




It soon becomes clear to anyone perusing through the Constitution of Kenya 2010, that the supreme authority in the Republic of Kenya belongs to the people; that State organs are subordinate to the will of the people and essentially exercise this authority by servant on their behalf. As part of the dictates of devolution contained in the Constitution, the National Assembly forms just one part of the Parliament of Kenya. The other half is the Senate of the Republic of Kenya signifying the people's desire for a two-tier legislative structure. The Senate will only come into existence after the first general elections under the New Constitution in March 2013. Until then, its functions will be exercised by the National Assembly (which exists as the 10th Parliament). Excerpts from the Sixth Schedule - Transitional and Consequential Provisions:

10. The National Assembly existing immediately before the effective date shall continue as the National Assembly for the purposes of this Constitution for its unexpired term.



Find Us On FaceBook - Image

Follow me