Article Index



Presidential Candidates


The following Candidates were on record as having publicly expressed their intentions to run for the office of the President of the Republic of Kenya in the March 2013 General Elections:

Raphael Tuju, Eugene Wamalwa, Uhuru Kenyatta, Raila Odinga, Moses Wetangula, Martha Karua, Mutava Musyimi, Wakoli Bifwoli, Kalonzo Musyoka, Peter Kenneth, James Ole Kiyiapi, Musalia Mudavadi, William Ruto, Paul Muite and Mohamed Dida.

However, some of these candidates pulled out of the race, while others formed pre-election party coalitions and hence the list of those officially cleared to run and gazetted by the Commission whittled down to just eight, seven men and one woman.

The Constitution of Kenya 2010 requires that every one of the candidates must nominate a running mate. Chapter 9 - The Executive, Part 2 - The President and Deputy President:

148. (1) Each candidate in a presidential election shall nominate a person who is qualified for nomination for election as President, as a candidate for Deputy President.

The list of the eight (8) candidates, their running mates and coalitions where applicable, is discussed under the Presidential Aspirants for 2013 link.


Find Us On FaceBook - Image

Follow me